Bellator 40: Quick Results

While Strikeforce: Diaz Vs Daley attracted a lot of attention last night, Bellator 40 was also taking place live on MTV2.

Welterweight champion Ben Askren successfully defended his title with a dominant win over Nick Thompson, relying on his world class grappling skills to control the fight.

Meanwhile in other main card action Jay Heiron progressed to the finals of the 170lb tournament with a decision win over Brent Weedman, and will now face Rick Hawn.

The other big fight on the card saw Michael Chandler book his place in the lightweight tournament final with a decision win over Lloyd Woodward.  He now faces a tough fight in the final with Patricky ‘Pitbull’ Freire.

See the full list of results from last night’s event below.

Main Card:

  • Ben Askren defeats Nick Thompson via Unanimous Decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Jay Hieron defeats Brent Weedman via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Michael Chandler defeats Lloyd Woodard via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Michael Osborn defeats Cody Carrillo via TKO (Strikes) at 1:27 in Round 1


  • Tyler Stinson defeats Nathan James via Split Decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Eric Prindle defeats Josh Burns via TKO (Doctor’s Stoppage) at 5:00 in Round 2
  • David Rickels defeats Dylan Smith via Submission (Triangle Choke) at 3:32 in Round 1
Ross launched MMA Insight (previously in 2009 as a way to channel his passion for the sport of mixed martial arts. He's since penned countless news stories and live fight reports along with dozens of feature articles as the lead writer for the site, reaching millions of fans in the process.