Last night’s Bellator 69 event featured the conclusion of the season six middleweight tournament.

It was former UFC fighter Maiquel Falcao who came out on top, defeating Andreas Spang by unanimous decision, making good use of takedowns and ground and pound throughout the fight to comfortably come out on top.

Apart from hurting Falcao with a left hook early in the fight Spang was never really at the races here, though an illegal knee from Falcao at one stage cost him a point which made the overall scorecards a little closer at 29-27 x3.

As the tournament winner falcao will now go on to face current Bellator middleweight champion Alexander Shlemenko at a later date.

Meanwhile, Karl Amoussou booked his place in the welterweight tournament final after a hard fought battle with David Rickels.

There was a bizarre moment early in this one when a kick broke Amoussou’s cup, but thankfully before a replacement cup arrived his cornerman managed to fix it with tape.

The fight was a close one, with Amoussou getting the better of the first round thanks to a couple of solid takedowns, while the second round could have gone to either man with Amoussou again securing the takedowns, but not doing much with it, while Rickels was more active, landing the better strikes and threatening with an armbar.

In the final round Rickels came on strong, landing some good ground and pound and leaving Amoussou with a badly swollen eye. Nevertheless the judges went on to hand him the split decision victory and he’ll now face Bryan Baker in the final.

Elsewhere, female Japanese star Megumi Fujii picked up only the second loss of her 27 fight career when she suffered a unanimous decision loss to Jessica Aguilar after coming off second best in the striking department.

Finally, Mark Holata clinched a place in the next heavyweight tournament by submitting Abe Wagner from an ankle lock early in the first round.

Check out all the results below.

Main Card:

Maiquel Falc√£o def. Andreas Spang via unanimous decision (29-27,29-27,29-27)
Karl Amoussou def. David Rickels via split decision (29-28,28-29,29-28)
Jessica Aguilar def. Megumi Fujii via unanimous decision (29-28,29-28,29-28)
Mark Holata def. Abe Wagner via verbal submission (ankle lock) at 2:24 of Round 1


E.J. Brooks def. Kalvin Hackney via unanimous decision
Shanon Slack def. Booker Arthur via unanimous decision (30-27,30-27,30-27)
Andrey Koreshkov def. Derrick Krantz via KO (strikes) at 0:51 of Round 3
Richard Hale def. Josh Burns via TKO at 0:38 of Round 1