All-female MMA organization Invicta FC crowned it’s first ever champion last night during it’s third event.

Jessica Penne became Invicta’s bantamweight champion with a second round triangle choke submission over Naho Sugiyama, extending her record to 10-1 in the process.

In the co-main event Shayna Baszler got back to winning ways with a rear-naked choke win over Sarah D’Alelio, while Leslie Smith ensured her second fight with Kaitlin Young didn’t end in another draw by taking her out by TKO mid-way through the second round.

Perhaps the biggest surprise of the evening was that Tara La Rosa, who’d lost only one of her last 19 fights, was comfortably beaten by Vanessa Porto who claimed a clean sweep on the judges scorecards (30-27 x3).

La Rosa had failed to make weight for the fight a day earlier, coming in 2lbs over the 125lb limit.

See all the results below.

Main Card

Jessica Penne def. Naho Sugiyama via submission (triangle choke) at 2:20 of round two

Shayna Baszler def. Sarah D’Alelio via submission (rear-naked choke) at 0:37 of round two

Leslie Smith def. Kaitlin Young via TKO at 2:19 of round two

Barb Honchak def. Aisling Daly via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Vanessa Porto def. Tara LaRosa via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Cat Zingano def. Raquel Pennington via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:32 of round two

Michelle Waterson def. Lacey Schuckman via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Julia Budd def. Danielle West via TKO at 2:32 of round one


Carla Esparza def. Lynn Alvarez via TKO at 2:53 of round one

Joanne Calderwood def. Ashley Cummins via KO at 1:13 of round one

Stephanie Frausto def. Amy Davis via submission (guillotine choke) at 0:48 of round one.

Jessamyn Duke def. Marciea Allen via submission (armbar) at 4:42 of round one

Tecia Torres def. Kaiyana Rain via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Ediane Gomes def. Katalina Malungahu via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:19 of round one