Perhaps in a nod to the traditionally long nature of Japanese MMA cards, the UFC announced today that next weekend’s UFC 144 event in Japan will feature seven fights during the pay-per-view event as opposed to the normal five, stretching the action out to four hours.

That’s good news for Hatsu Hioki vs Bart Palaszewski and Anthony Pettis vs Joe Lauzon who suddenly find their fights promoted to the main card alongside the likes of the main event between Frankie Edgar and Ben Henderson.

Despite this change fans will still be able to watch live preliminary action from the event on FX starting at 8pm Eastern Time (1am UK) prior to the PPV card which will start at 10pm ET (3am UK).

It’ll be interesting to see how this goes and whether it may entice more people to buy the pay-per-view card.

Previous articleUFC On Fuel TV 1: Predictions
Next articleUFC On Fuel TV 1: Weigh-In Results
Ross launched MMA Insight (previously in 2009 as a way to channel his passion for the sport of mixed martial arts. He's since penned countless news stories and live fight reports along with dozens of feature articles as the lead writer for the site, reaching millions of fans in the process.