In an unprecedented move the UFC are giving Brazilian MMA fans the chance to vote on which of their countrymen they’d like to see fight in August’s UFC: Rio event.

According to the TATAME site, the Brazilian version of the UFC site offers a list of 33 fighters, all from Brazil, from which they can choose 12 that they’d like to see participate in the Rio De Janerio event at the HSBC Arena.

With so many talented Brazilian’s currently residing on the UFC’s roster it’s understandable that the promotion could use a little help narrowing down the field a little.

It’s worth pointing out though that simply getting the most votes won’t guarantee a fighter a place on the card as factors such as injuries, suspensions and previously booked fights could rule out some of the fighters on the list as the event draws closer.

While it appears that fans in other countries won’t be allowed to join in the fun, you can check out the list of fighters below and make you’re own dream card from it.


  • Diego Nunes – Caxias do Sul (RS)
  • Rany Yahya – Brasília (DF)
  • Renan Barão – Rio Grande do Norte (RN)


  • José Aldo – Manaus (AM)
  • Raphael Assumpção – Fortaleza (CE)


  • Charles “Do Bronx” Oliveira – São Paulo (SP)
  • Edson Barboza – Nova Friburgo (RJ)
  • Gleison Tibau – Tibau (RN)
  • Rafael dos Anjos – Rio de Janeiro (RJ)
  • Thiago Tavares – Florianópolis (SC)
  • Yuri Alcântara – Ilha de Marajó (PA)


  • Carlos Eduardo “Tá Danado” Rocha – Cabedelo (PB)
  • Paulo Thiago – Brasília (DF)
  • Renzo Gracie – Rio de Janeiro (RJ)
  • Thiago “Pitbull” Alves – Fortaleza (CE)


  • Alexandre Ferreira “Cacareco” – Rio de Janeiro (RJ)
  • Anderson Silva – São Paulo (SP)
  • Demian Maia – São Paulo (SP)
  • Jorge Santiago – Angra dos Reis (RJ)
  • Mário Miranda – Niterói (RJ)
  • Rafael “Sapo” Natal – Belo Horizonte (MG)
  • Rousimar “Toquinho” Palhares – Dores do Indaiá (MG)
  • Thiago Silva – São Paulo (SP)
  • Vitor Belfort – Rio de Janeiro (RJ)
  • Wanderlei Silva – Curitiba (PR

Light Heavyweight:

  • Fabio Maldonado – Sorocaba (SP)
  • Luiz “Banha” Cané – São Paulo (SP)
  • Lyoto Machida – Salvador (BA)
  • Maiquel Falcão – Pelotas (RS)
  • Mauricio “Shogun” Rua – Curitiba (PR)
  • Rogério “Minotouro” – Salvador (BA)


  • Junior “Cigano” dos Santos – Caçador (SC)
  • Rodrigo “Minotauro” – Salvador (BA)