Bellator 112 took place last night and in the main event of the evening Pat Curran reclaimed the featherweight title in a five round battle with Daniel Straus.

This was a highly competitive encounter and at one point early in the second round Curran found himself flat on his back after being dropped by a straight. That didn’t stop him for long though and back-and-forth they went for almost the entire five rounds.

I say ‘almost’, because deep into the final five minutes Curran was able to get Straus to the mat, take his back and apply a rear-naked choke. Despite Straus giving the thumbs up a few times, he was in a very bad spot and that resulted in him eventually succumbing to the tap with just 14 seconds of the fight remaining to earn back the belt.

Elsewhere the focus of attention was very much on Bellator’s latest welterweight tournament which had to be hastily re-arranged after a series of injury call-offs in the week leading up to the event.

Andrey Koreshkov and Sam Oropeza both booked their place in the semi-finals in swift fashion.

Koreshkov stopped Nah Shon Burrell in his tracks with a two-for-one, right body kick / knee to the chin attack just 41 seconds into the fight, while Oropeza dropped Cristiano Souza with a hook and then knocked him out with ground and pound 3.07mins into the opening round.

The other two tourney fights went to unanimous decision verdicts with Adam McDonough outpointing Jess Juarez and Nathan Coy besting Paul Bradley.

See all the results from last night’s event below.

Main Card:

Pat Curran def. Daniel Straus via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:46 of Round 5
Andrey Koreshkov def. Nah-Shon Burrell via TKO (strikes) at :41 of Round 1
Sam Oropeza def. Cristiano Souza via KO (strike) at 3:07 of Round 1
Adam McDonough def. Jesse Juarez via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)


Nathan Coy def. Paul Bradley via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Belal Muhammad def. A.J. Matthews via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Darrion Caldwell def. Lance Surma via submission (guillotine choke) at :50 of Round 1
Derek Loffer def. Bobby Reardanz via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Anthony Gomez def. Jason Guida via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)
Daniel James def. Erick Correa via submission (strikes) at 4:30 of Round 2