Bellator 131 Results

Bellator 131 took place tonight on Spike TV and you can see all the results from the event below.

Bellator’s much publicized main event between Tito Ortiz and Stephan Bonnar didn’t live up to the hype, proving to be a bit of a sloppy slug-fest between two fighters long since past their prime. Ortiz looked the better prepared of the two though and seemed to be getting the better of the action in all three rounds, though somehow it ended up as a split decision with two judges seeing it as a clean sweep for Ortiz, while one puzzling coming up with a 29-28 ruling in Bonnar’s favor.

In the co-main event Will Brooks became Bellator’s undisputed lightweight champion after a bizarre fourth round TKO finish in which his opponent Michael Chandler was clipped with a hook to the temple that seemed to temporarily relieve him of his senses, backing up in something of a daze waving his hands as if to call of the fight. Brooks followed him and landed more strikes, with Chandler ending up propping himself face first against the cage as the fight was ended. Afterwards Chandler was thoroughly confused about what had just happened.

Earlier in the evening Melvin Manhoef was toppled like a tree by a beastly 1-2 combo from Joe Schilling in the second round of their scrap, while Mike Richman took just 46 seconds to TKO Nam Phan with a flurry of strikes and ‘King Mo’ Lawal had to wait until the third round to find a stoppage against late replacement Joe Vedepo.

See all the results from Bellator 131 below.

Main Card:

Tito Ortiz def. Stephan Bonnar via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 30-27)
Will Brooks defeats Michael Chandler via fourth-round TKO (3:48)
Joe Schilling def. Melvin Manhoef via second-round KO (0:32)
Mike Richman def. Nam Phan via first-round TKO (0:46)
King Mo Lawal def. Joe Vedepo via third-round TKO (0:39)


Joao Faria def. Ian Butler via submission (arm-triangle choke) (R3, 1:58)
A.J. Matthews def. Kyle Bolt via first-round KO (1:39)
Jonathan Santa Maria def. Ron Henderson via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)
Jordan Bailey def. Alex Higley via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:27 of round one.
Nick Garcia def. Matthew Ramirez via submission (guillotine choke) at 0;56 of round two.
Andy Murad def. Bubba Pugh via split decision 29-28, 28-29, 29-28.
Rolando Perez vs. Mark Vorgeas, split draw (29-27 Voregas; 30-26 Perez 28-28).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here