Tomorrow night had been expected to see a head-to-head clash between UFC Fight Night 50 on FOX Sports 1 and Bellator 123 over on Spike TV, but due to moves by both promotions their main cards will no longer be going up against each other.

Bellator were the first to blink a few weeks ago when they opted to start their main card an hour earlier than usual to 8pm ET, which would have given them an hour’s head start over the UFC which would still be airing prelims at that time.

However, the UFC are apparently also feeling the heat as they’ve now opted to go with a four fight main card instead of the previously billed six fights, which will result in Nik Lentz Vs Charles Oliveira and John Moraga Vs Justin Scoggins being billed as prelims.

That means the UFC’s main card now begins airing at 10pm ET by which time Bellator’s event should be all but over.

It’s an interesting move on the UFC’s part and shows that despite Dana White’s claims he’s not interested in what the sports No.2 promotion is doing, that they are in fact paying close attention.

The time switch is good news for fans as it means they’ll be able to enjoy both stacked main card’s back-to-back tomorrow evening.

Bellator 123 Main Card: (8pm ET / 1am UK)

Pat Curran vs. Patricio Pitbull
King Mo Lawal vs. Dustin Jacoby
Lavar Johnson vs. Cheick Kongo
Bobby Lashley vs. Josh Burns

UFC Fight Night 50 Main Card: (10pm ET / 3am UK)

Gegard Mousasi vs. Ronaldo Souza
Alistair Overeem vs. Ben Rothwell
Matt Mitrione vs. Derrick Lewis
Joe Lauzon vs. Michael Chiesa

LEAVE A REPLY