Bellator continued the good start to their time on Spike TV last night with another enjoyable fight card.

The main event saw welterweight champion Ben Askren successfully defend his title against Karl Amoussou.

Askren’s dominant wrestling was on display here, but he was also far more active with ground and pound that we’ve seen from him in the past and that paid dividends as he put a beating on Amoussou that resulted in a doctor’s stoppage at the end of the third round.

The big selling point for this card however had been the debut of light-heavyweight star Muhammed ‘King Mo’ Lawal who showed why he’s considered the most notable name on the Bellator roster as he made short work of Przemyslaw Mysiala in the quarter-finals of the 205lb tournament.

‘King Mo’s been working hard on his boxing skills of late and it showed as he had his opponent’s nose bloodied only minutes into the fight before a clipping left followed by a hard right hook finished Mysiala by knockout with 3.52mins on the clock.

Earlier former welterweight tournament champion Douglas Lima had impressed with a brutal leg kick assault against Michail Tsarev that at times literally took him off his feet and eventually left him unable to continue in the second round, so Lima gets the TKO win and progresses to the semi’s of the latest 170lb tournament.

Ben Saunders also booked his place in the final four of the tournament with a unanimous decision win over Koffie Adzitso, earning a clean sweep on the judges scorecards.

See all the results from last night’s event below.

Main Card:

Ben Askren def. Karl Amoussou via third-round TKO (doctor’s stoppage) (5:00)
Muhammed Lawal def. Przemyslaw Mysiala via first-round KO (3:52)
Douglas Lima def. Michail Tsarev via second-round TKO (1:44)
Ben Saunders def. Koffie Adzitso via unanimous decision (30-27 x3)


Brent Weedman def. Marius Zaromskis via unanimous decision (29-27 x3)
Raul Amaya def. Jose Gomes via first-round TKO (3:12)
Cortez Coleman def. Matt Jones via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Jason Sampson def. Chris Pham via submission (armbar) (R3, 4:55)
Damon Jackson def. Zach Church via submission (rear-naked choke) (R2, 2:43)
Hunter Tucker def. Javier Obregon via submission (rear-naked choke) (R2, 3:17)