Rizin FF 2 Results

Rizin FF 2 took place earlier today in Japan and we’ve got all the results for you below.

The most anticipated bout of the card saw Mirko ‘Cro Cop’ Filipovic competing in the opening round of the Openweight Grand-Prix against Hyun Man Myung.

Though he’s best known for his fearsome kickboxing, ‘Cro Cop’ opted to take Myung down early in the fight, and that quickly paid dividends when he submitted his opponent with an arm triangle just 2.20mins into the opening round.

Afterwards ‘Cro Cop’ called out fellow Grand-Prix fighter Wanderlei Silva (who’d been given a bye from competing in this round of the tournament) to fight him in the next round later this year. The fight was then made official right then, making that a must-see trilogy fight between the two stars in December.

‘Cro Cop’ and Silva will be joined by Baruto Kaito, Jiri Prochazka, Amir Aliakbari, Valentin Moldavsky and Szymon Bajor who also notched up victories on the night.

Meanwhile, in the main event of the evening, Kron Gracie took his MMA record to 3-0 with a first round rear-naked choke victory against veteran campaigner Hideo Tokoro.

Perhaps the most talked about fight on the card ended up being the notorious Charles ‘Krazyhorse’ Bennett’s seven second TKO win over Minoru Kimura earlier in the evening.

Bennett was as wild as ever as he mouthed off at the camera during the pre-fight staredown in the center of the ring, then after flooring the onrushing Kimura with a single punch he did his customary backflips off the ropes, delivered an entertaining post-fight speech, then proceeded to head backstage where he was allegedly involved in an altercation with his old rival Wanderlei Silva for the second time in the space of a week!

Former UFC fighter Daron Cruickshank picked up his second win in the Rizin organization, sticking to the general trend of the show by dispensing with striking in favor of a rear-naked choke finish against kickboxer Andy Souwer in the opening round, while in a clash of female heavyweights, Gabi Garcia racked up her third MMA victory by submitting Destanie Yarbrough with a keylock.

Check out all the results from Rizin FF 2 below.

Kron Gracie def. Hideo Tokoro by submission (rear naked choke). Round 1
Rena Kubota def. Miyu Yamamoto by submission (modified guillotine choke). Round 1
Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic defeats Hyun Man Myung by submission (arm triangle choke), Round 1 – openweight grand prix first round
Baruto Kaito def. Kazuyuki Fujita by unanimous decision – openweight grand prix first round
Daron Cruickshank def. Andy Souwer by submission (rear naked choke). Round 1
Erson Yamamoto def. Kizaemon Saiga by split decision
Jiri Prochazka def. Mark Tanios by unanimous decision – openweight grand prix first round
Valentin Moldavsky def. Karl Albrektsson by unanimous decision – openweight grand prix first round
Amir Aliakbari def. Joao Almeida by TKO (punches from mounted crucifix). Round 1 – openweight grand prix first round
Szymon Bajor def. Teodoras Aukstuolis by decision – openweight grand prix first round
Charles Bennett def. Minoru Kimura by TKO (right hook and punches). Round 1, 0:07
Kanako Murata def. Kyra Batara by decision
Gabi Garcia def. Destanie Yarbrough by submission (keylock). Round 1

Ross launched MMA Insight (previously FightOfTheNight.com) in 2009 as a way to channel his passion for the sport of mixed martial arts. He's since penned countless news stories and live fight reports along with dozens of feature articles as the lead writer for the site, reaching millions of fans in the process.