Justin Gaethje became World Series Of Fighting’s first lightweight champion last night after a swift victory over Richard Patishnock in the main event of WSOF 8.

There was plenty of action crammed into the 69 seconds this one lasted as Gaethje took the fight to Patishnock with a flying knee and then battered him from pillar to post with punches and elbows, dropping him twice momentarily twice.

A continued assault up against the cage then convinced the referee that while still standing, Patishnock had endured enough damage for one night, handing Gaethje the TKO victory.

Quick finishes were the order of the night in the three biggest fights of the night, with Anthony Johnson taking just 2.03mins to KO Mike Kyle.

Johnson actually finished him on the backfoot as Kyle attempted to push forward aggressively, clocking him with a left then a right hook to the temple that dropped his opponent flat on his face.

‘Rumble’ is now on a six-fight winning streak and officially became a free agent last night so it’ll be interesting to see whether the UFC will now move in to re-sign him, or if WSOF can offer him a deal to entice him to stay.

The other big fight on the card was the inaugural woman’s strawweight title, and as expected it was Jessica Aguliar who came out on top, locking Alida Gray up in an arm triangle submission in just 2.45mins of the first round.

The former Bellator fighter is now on an eight-fight winning streak and is considered one of the best female fighters currently not signed to the UFC.

Main Card:

Justin Gaethje def. Richard Patishnock via TKO (strikes) – Round 1, 1:09
Anthony Johnson def. Mike Kyle via knockout (punch) – Round 1, 2:03
Jessica Aguilar def. Alida Gray via submission (arm triangle) – Round 1, 2:45
Cody Bollinger def. Tyson Nam via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) – Round 3, 5:00
Luis Palomino def. Jorge Patino via knockout (strikes) – Round 2, 4:20


Tyler Stinson def. Valdir Araujo via knockout (punches) – Round 3, 2:23
Derrick Mehmen def. Scott Barrett via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27) – Round 3, 5:00
Alexis Vila def. Sidemar Honorio via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27) – Round 3, 5:00
Freddy Assuncao def. Brenson Hansen via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28) – Round 3, 5:00
Anderson Melo def. Jose Caceres via submission (heel hook) – Round 1, 1:10