UFC Fight Night 29 Bonus Awards

Following tonight’s UFC Fight Night 29 event in Brazil the recipients of the evening’s $50,000 bonus awards were announced.

Picking up ‘Fight of The Night’ honors was the closely fought bantamweight battle between Raphael Assuncao and TJ Dillashaw.

‘Knockout Of The Night’ was handed to Dong Hyun Kim for his stunning come-from-behind KO against Erick Silva.

Finally, ‘Submission Of The Night’ would almost certainly have been awarded to Rousimar Palhares for his ankle lock against Mike Pierce had it not been for the fact that he held the technique for a considerable amount of time after Pierce tapped and the referee had called an end to the fight.

It’s not the first time Palhares has been in trouble for this “unsportsmanlike conduct”, and it’s resulted in him losing out on the bonus money, while it’s expected that other punishments will now follow.

Since there were no other submissions on the card, that bonus goes unclaimed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here