World MMA Awards 2020 Winners Announced

The winners of the annual World MMA Awards 2020 hosted by Fighters Only have been announced and you can check them all out below.

There were few surprises this year, with Israel Adesanya being the biggest winner as he he scooped up the awards for both Male Fighter Of The Year and International Fighter Of The Year after big wins over Yoel Romero and Paulo Costa in the past 12 months, while two-division champion Amanda Nunes claimed Female Fighter Of The Year with just a single victory over Felicia Spencer.

Upset of the year went to Alexander Volkanovski after he defeated former featherweight champion Max Holloway for the second time, although on this occasion only via a controversial split decision verdict.

Meanwhile, Ben Askren had the dubious distinction of being on the receiving end of both the KO Of The Year and Submission Of The Year against Jorge Masvidal and Demian Maia respectively, while Masvidal also scooped up the ‘Breakthrough Fighter Of The Year’ too after finally rising to superstardom almost 50-fights into his career.

Other notable awards included Stipe Miocic securing Comeback Of The Year for his unanimous decision win against Daniel Cormier in their trilogy fight, while Fight Of The Year went to an exceptional five round title fight war between Weili Zhang and Joanna Jedrzejczyk.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Male Fighter of the Year: Israel Adesanya
International Fighter of the Year: Israel Adesanya
Female Fighter of the Year: Amanda Nunes
Upset of the Year: Alexander Volkanovski defeats Max Holloway
Breakthrough Fighter of the Year: Jorge Masvidal
KO of the Year: Jorge Masvidal KOs Ben Askren
Submission of the Year: Demian Maia submits Ben Askren
Fight of the Year: Weili Zhang vs. Joanna Jedrzejczyk
Comeback of the Year: Stipe Miocic defeats Daniel Cormier
Media Source of the Year: ESPN
MMA Journalist of the Year: Ariel Helwani
Referee of the Year: Herb Dean
MMA Personality of the Year: Joe Rogan
Best MMA Programming of the Year: The Joe Rogan Experience
Coach of the Year: Trevor Wittman
Trainer of the Year: Phil Daru
Gym of the Year: American Top Team
Fighting Spirit of the Year: Dustin Poirier for his Good Fight Foundation
Leading Man of the Year: Dana White
Promotion of the Year: UFC

Ross launched MMA Insight (previously in 2009 as a way to channel his passion for the sport of mixed martial arts. He's since penned countless news stories and live fight reports along with dozens of feature articles as the lead writer for the site, reaching millions of fans in the process.